A Berry Good Day

Perfect weather… lots of yard work done…achy bones.

Then the raspberries along the driveway were calling me, in hopes of harvesting a few bowls full before the bears and turkeys find them!

house rasp

There is a lot to ripen yet, so bit by bit I’ll add them to the freezer for jam later.

rasp

As I pick them in the quiet, my mind wanders in wonder.  Even if no one came along to pick these berries…they would still grow.  Not for show, not for applause, not for payment.  But simply because that is what they were made to do!  Their script is written by their Creator.  As long as their roots hold tight, and they absorb the rain and sun, they will BECOME.

This is when I plop down on the hillside and sit for a minute, to take in the details around me.  This is when everything feels right. I’m grounded. Noticing each tiny wildflower around me with thanksgiving.

©hops+

Abide in Me, as I abide in you. Just as the branch cannot bear fruit unless it abides in the vine, neither can you unless you abide in Me.
John 15:4

There are many times when I feel like I’m NOT living the script that I was created to do.  Struggling to find my way.  Then there are days like today, when I think that perhaps the plan is to simply ABIDE.  To remain rooted, and to absorb the SON. And the first ‘fruit’ is the thanksgiving.

Why do we make it more complicated??

 

 

4 thoughts on “A Berry Good Day

  1. A sweet little song I sing with my kids and think of often when I am in my garden. “I come to the garden alone, while the dew is still on the roses. And the voice I hear, falling on my ear, the Son of God discloses. And He walks with me and He talks with me, and He tells me I am His own. And the joy we share as we tarry there, none other has ever known.”

Leave a Reply

