Maggie May

I sang parts of this song as I refinished the old buffet:

“Wake up Maggie I think I got something to say to you…

The morning sun when it’s on your face really shows your age,

but that don’t worry me none, in my eyes you’re everything. ” 

She’s old… and she’s been waiting a LONG time to wake up again!  In the shed when we moved into the farm 28 years ago,  I had ‘someday’ plans for her, but you know how it goes with projects…and raising a family… and, and…. well, she continued to wait.

My sister asked me while visiting years ago, “Are you EVER gonna do anything with that?”

“Well… not anytime soon. Do YOU have a vision for it?”

She took it home… and it sat in her shed for a dozen years or so.

Then I reversed the question, “Are YOU ever gonna do anything with it?”

Back home it came to the farm.  Then a few years later, we moved.

Maggie came along, even though we don’t have any outbuildings, which turned into a good thing… forcing me into action. Cleaning, stripping, wood filler in the missing veneer, glue… then paint!  (And many thanks to strong boys for lugging it around.  Heavy piece!)

This new house has just the PERFECT spot for her to become useful again!  The upstairs bathroom has a strange open area, yet NO closet.  She is now holding linens in the guest bathroom.  She was made for such a time as this!  (Maybe I should have called her Esther?)

maggie B4

 

maggie after

 

Maggie May has proved to be a lesson in patience.  That transformation/restoration WILL happen in it’s own time.  Twenty-eight years in her case.

Never give up hope.  🙂

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Maggie May

  1. Before I finished reading/scrolling I thought to myself “all things in their own time”….how delightful! AND….how lovely, Maggie May is not showing her age!

  2. Hi Nina,

    Love what you did with the dresser. A perfect spot. Glad you hung in there.

    Otherwise how’s it going? I’ve enjoyed reading your blog. Haven’t seen any message about how you’re health is, so I keep hoping for the best. And how’s Kevin doing in retirement? I also hope that he is finding some peace from the demands of his stressful work environment.

    Dawn

    ________________________________

  3. Nina, you are a miracle worker! The chest is absolutely beautiful and I am sure the singing enhanced the transformation process! Yes, there is a lot of life in us old things!! We all need restoration and rejuvenation at times to make us new again! Thanks for sharing and God bless!

  4. She’s a beauty for sure – both old and renewed! Much like we are when we name our sins and start anew. I’ll call you with all the news on my end of town. lol

Leave a Reply

