Gift from the Woods

This week I learned about a VERY interesting ‘mushroom’ that grows on Birch trees. Chaga! It has SO many wonderful health benefits.

You can read a bit about it here.  I looked it up on various sites to learn about harvesting and preparing it.  In a nutshell, this is what I’ve gleaned:

  • Harvest during the dormant season and only from LIVE trees.
  • Don’t gouge into the tree, simply use a hatchet and chop off level with the trunk.
  • Toss the chunks (leaving the black outer layer on them) into a crock pot… low simmer for a few hours. You don’t want to boil it hard.  (I used about a quart of water… simmered for an hour, let it sit overnight to steep, then simmered again in the morning.)
  • Strain well…. and drink up! Save the tea in the refrigerator, and dry out the chunks to use again. (not sure how many times they can be used?)

I was expecting a bitter bark flavor… but was pleasantly surprised!  It was smooth… and earthy. Not bad at all.

chaga

 

I am so happy to read about the wonderful natural gifts that are given to us. Since I have opted out of pharmaceutical treatment for a while (we are doing a watch and wait),  I am going full speed ahead with herbal medicines instead.  Yea!!  🙂    And a walk in the woods foraging certainly is healing too!!

6 thoughts on “Gift from the Woods

  1. Nina, My son recently told us about this – he has a friend who uses this on a daily basis and swears by it. He’s reuses the same piece several times.
    ‘love & hugs from afar’

  2. ewe Harvest some for me!?! I     have been on Chinese herbs and brews for years until the news came out with toxic findings. So I stopped. But if you drank  this Chaga I will.

    So how did you recognize it or had you been studying. I may be able to find it here, but don’t trust anyone. Ro

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

