I REALLY wanna be a Turtle!

While out on a house-hunting trek, we came across this big snapper guy, crossing the road to the water on the other side.

web turtle

 

And he got me thinking about how lucky he was!   He carries ALL he needs right on his back!  No fluff. No extras.  Just head on over to the new spot.

I am in the midst of packing for our move in a month. Sorting. Culling. Deciding. Almost 30 years of collected stuff has me wondering WHY I kept all of this?  (Simply because when you are ‘settled’ and have the space… you do that!)  It’s almost comical… I pack a box, and go through it again the next day to toss out MORE.  Is it really worth moving?  I think the people at St. Vin’s are getting tired of me and my bags full.  But the stuff still has ‘life’.  I can’t just toss it out.  I’m hoping someone adopts it all and puts it to use.

I am also realizing that my ‘intentions’ are showing.  Things planned… but never materialized.  It’s a sad sort of thing.  A few make me laugh though. Like my ‘Learning to Play the Drums’ book???? Yes.. I did (do) have that desire.  But I guess I’ll pass that one on to the grands now. Perhaps some of my dreams can be realized by my descendants.  That’s fun to watch too.

But when it comes right down to knowing the Truth, it’s what we store in heaven that counts.  And for THAT move… there will be NO packing!  🙂

Treasures in Heaven

19 “Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moths and vermin destroy, and where thieves break in and steal. 20 But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moths and vermin do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal.    (Matthew 6).

Please, Let my words and actions reflect only that……with God’s help.

 

 

5 thoughts on “I REALLY wanna be a Turtle!

  1. Nina, excellent writing – but you don’t really want to be a turtle – they make soup out of turtles 😉 How is the house deal coming along? So excited you’re moving closer to me – or at least I hope you still are.
    ‘love & hugs from afar’

    • Hi Cher! — House is not a done deal yet… we wait and wait! And actually, being a turtle would suit my introverted self just fine… soup or not! 😉

Leave a Reply

