Ladle Legacy

ladle

I reach into the drawer to pull out the ladle needed for supper.  Pause. Tears well up.

I am reminded of the brevity of life. This belonged to my mom. I grew up with this ladle.  Memories are served up.

Not to sound morose, but just facing reality,  I won’t be here forever either.  We are all  one single breath from eternity.  Accidents happen. Hearts fail. Cancer intrudes.

One catalyst for this sort of thinking is my recent sorting through  years of  ‘projects waiting’ as I prepare for this maybe move. I am realizing that I won’t be getting to them after all.   It feels like the death of little dreams.  A sadness.  But it’s time to clear them out.  Not exactly a bucket list of things, but maybe a ladle list.

And I wonder…. what will I be remembered for anyway?  The things that I’ve created? Or will it simply be that I was faithful?  Faithful to God….. to my husband… and my family.

I pray that I can focus more on being a faithful servant, in my quiet way. A bit like that humble ladle.

3 thoughts on “Ladle Legacy

  1. Oh Nina, all I can say is that you will be remembered in so many ways, by so many people. I still run into people who share memories of my Jeff even after 14 years. It’s the little things in life that trigger memories but its the way you live your life that are constant reminders day by day. It’s who you are, and you are wonderful my friend.
    ‘love & hugs from afar’

  2. Oh Nina! How humbling it is to look around and see the material that collects in the corners over the years. You are so wonderful to share your insights as you journey, you are such a beautiful person. I wanted to thank you for this post. You stopped me in my tracks today and helped me really inventory what really matters in this world. I needed that. Thank you, Nina. Be well. Love from Milwaukee!

  3. My sweet cousin, never doubt what you will be remember by. It will always be you and your inner beauty that you have enlighten everyone with. Your love for your family and our father in heaven.

Leave a Reply

