Cherries and Pits

cherries

I have been able to beat the birds to the ripe cherries this year…bit by bit, I’ll have enough for a crisp soon.  I need to go check the tree every other day and keep pickin’.

Wonderful cherries. Time spent removing the pits. Removing myself from the pit!  I am wondering if I should continue with the Rituxan treatments…. as it makes me so tired. From what I’ve read, it’s not really mandatory… it’s simply a precaution.

What a perfect devotional I turned to this morning!!! Dealing with pits:

Self-pity is a slimy, bottomless PIT. Once you fall in, you tend to go deeper and deeper into the mire. As you slide down those slippery walls, you are well on you way to depression, and the darkness is profound. 

Your only hope is to look up and see the Light of My Presence shining down on you. Though the Light looks dim from your perspective, deep in the pit, those rays of hope can reach you at any depth. While you focus on Me in trust, you rise ever so slowly out of the abyss of despair. Finally, you can reach up and grasp My hand. I will pull you out into the Light again. I will gently cleanse you, washing off the clinging mire. I will cover you with My righteousness and walk with you down the path of Life.

Psalm 40:2-3, Psalm 42:5, Psalm 147:11

(from Jesus Calling by Sarah Young)

I know, I know… being tired is a mild side effect considering what others have to go through. I need to be thankful… and simply accept my slower pace.  (But it does make me crazy. My brain doesn’t slow down. Lots of things that I WANT to do.)

4 thoughts on “Cherries and Pits

  1. Thanks, Nina! How appropriate, Don is having a rough time with side effects and is wondering where this “maintaining a good quality of life” is hiding! I am printing this out for him to read. God bless and keep your wonderful and inspirational blog coming!
    Chris

  2. It reminds me of Erma Bombeck saying “if life is a bowl of cherries, how come all I get is the pit”….or something like that….Nina, offer up your tired for the good of lost souls. and something else….maybe your are supposed to slow down….just maybe that is your purpose right now….s l o w d o w n . . . . About ten years ago I remember sitting out by the fire pit in our yard. The days was lovely, the weather just perfect…the time was sort of between “summer and autumn” and everything was as one could only wish for. All was well with my family, my friends, my present my future and the contentment was like a protective shield from all distress. As I was appreciating this awesome feeling of peace and serenity I got to thinking (this usually ends up getting me into trouble, but I just never seem to learn!!!) that I needed to challenge my contentment, that I needed to put myself out there and address some needs of those who may be struggling. No sooner had I processed this thought when I heard Him say to me “be still…stay quiet…this is where you need to be…your time will come”. I literally heard this as a voice speaking in my ear, not my brain…and I looked around and then I realized that I had heard this voice before, and knew to heed the words….and I did. Of course there were a few times when this idea popped into my head again and I thought maybe I needed to get going and I heard Him say
    “Be still…I have not called you. Rest. You will know when your time has come”. Boy oh Boy!!!! when it came I am glad that I took that grace an held tight to it to take me through the challenge that we have…..so dear Nina….take your rest….it is grace.

Leave a Reply

