…and the birds SING!

fx- SONG! DSC_3038

This past Friday we were given an April shower, in the form of SNOW!  About 8″ of it.  I “planted” seeds into the feeders and was blessed with a flurry of feathered blossoms all day long.  I kept busy with my camera. Love those birds. So sweet. Today the sun is shining (for the moment) and they are singing!

This song came to mind, written over 100 years ago.  I love how things penned so long ago can still be on the tips of our tongues!

  1. Why should I feel discouraged, why should the shadows come,
    Why should my heart be lonely, and long for heav’n and home,
    When Jesus is my portion? My constant Friend is He:
    His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me;
    His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me. 

    • Refrain:
      I sing because I’m happy, I sing because I’m free,
      For His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me.
  2. “Let not your heart be troubled,” His tender word I hear,
    And resting on His goodness, I lose my doubts and fears;
    Though by the path He leadeth, but one step I may see;
    His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me;
    His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me.
  3. Whenever I am tempted, whenever clouds arise,
    When songs give place to sighing, when hope within me dies,
    I draw the closer to Him, from care He sets me free;
    His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me;
    His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me.

In Jesus’s own words He tells us “Are not five sparrows sold for two cents? And yet not one of them is forgotten before God. Do not fear; you are of more value than many sparrows.”  Luke 12:6-7

How about that for comfort?!  Of course He doesn’t mean that we will have easy sailing on this earth, BUT we do have the assurance that He will journey with us, and never leave us. Eternity with Him is our reality, whenever that day comes.  For now…we sing.

A side note here, about our love for creation, and the command to care for it:

I found this gentle web site. Very nice.   http://www.notonesparrow.com

6 thoughts on “…and the birds SING!

  1. I’m so glad you are still posting. This is a beautiful way to start a Sunday! I hope you are feeling well! Take care! 🙂 Sandy

    • Thank you Sandy! Yes….doing OK for now. Just tired and achy. Tumors are shrinking with weekly IV meds. Not sure yet what the next step is…but trusting! 🙂

  2. You’re such an encouragement to me!! I’m thrilled to hear that the tumors are shrinking! I continue to pray for you, as the Lord leads. What a beautiful talents our sweet Lord blessed you with! 🙂 Thank you for sharing!

    • yes, this song has been spinning in my head as all the birds return. 🙂
      We just watched the movie “Sparkle”, and Whitney Houston sang this song with her usual ‘power’. It was her final movie, she died before it was done.

Leave a Reply

