Potholes, Rough roads, and….can’t I take a detour???

Screen Shot 2013-03-12 at 3.30.57 PM

Ok.  I am Digging. My. Heels. In.

Don’t want to travel any farther. (Uh oh, here comes my stubborn streak.)

Just hate the thought of toxic drugs dripping into my veins. (But, yes, I also hate the thought of cancer cells lurking and growing.)  But reading through the long list of side effects and possible allergic reactions is about to send me running down the hallway. Screaming. With my arms in the air.  I am trying hard to get a grip on the ONE GOOD side effect…the killing of the cancer… and focus on that.

I opened up a devotional book today by Sarah Young…(it was given to me as a gift…what a great book! ) And I just want to share what I was encouraged by.  Hope it does the same for you!

Let me prepare you for the day that stretches out before you. I know exactly what this day will contain, whereas you have only vague ideas about it. You would like to see a map, showing all the twists and turns of your journey. You’d feel more prepared if you could somehow visualize what is on the road ahead. However, there is a better way to be prepared for whatever you will encounter today: Spend quality time with Me. 

I will not show you what is on the road ahead, but I will thoroughly equip you for the journey. My living Presence is your Companion each step of the way. Stay in continual communication with Me, whispering My Name whenever you need to redirect your thoughts. Thus, you can walk through this day with your focus on Me. My abiding Presence is the best road map available.

Guess what book I am packing in my bag for tomorrow. 

8 thoughts on “Potholes, Rough roads, and….can’t I take a detour???

  1. That reflection from the devotional was written especially for you!! We all can benefit from it but for you it is light in a cave of darkness. There are so many things thatI wish I could do for you; reassure you, heal you, comfort you!! What I can do is pray and what you need to get you through this is in your heart!! You have put yourselfin the loving arms of Jesus and you believe in His divine mercy. He has put Kevin at your side as a wonderful support. He has sent you to Dr. Morel, whom I would trust withmy life!! Your road ahead is terrifying, and His words are to whisper His name when you are afraid and He will get you through. You must take that rough road and call on myself, Kathy, Christina and Kay to do whatever we can do to help. We are there for praying, visiting, sharing, support, we can take turns bringing meals, helping out at home, holding you tight so that you can feel the arms of Jesus. I know that on Thursday you are getting your first treatment. Are visitors allowed to be with you at that time? I know that Kevin will be, if allowed, but let us know if wecan share that time with you. I have many books on prayer and healing, devotionals and God’s Grace. I could just be there just to be there in silence. Anything we can do, Nina, iswhat we are offering to do. If you want to talk, I am home tonight: 906-542-3837. Let me know if you would like me to call you (I need phone #). God bless and heal, Chris Date: Tue, 12 Mar 2013 20:41:10 +0000 To: c.burns.357@hotmail.com

  2. Nina, I’m adding you to my prayer list and praying for you daily! Thank you for sharing your journey. You are amazing! Much love from the Futterer’s and Barksdale’s

  3. Hello thanks for sharing i thought today was Wednesday, as i commented on you email. Yeah of course i read up on that nasty drug side effects, but your right it will do the job, than goodness it will be only 5 but 5 to many. You should publish your blog for others. Be brave i’ll be their tomorrow in spirit.
    Love Rochelle

  4. You are the bravest person I know. Tomorrow is a new experience for you, but it’s not new to God and He’ll be there too. I’m keeping you and Kevin in prayer. Call if you want company.

Leave a Reply

