Recalculating

Today held an excursion with two friends to the little ice caves a couple hours north of here. We’ve talked about going all winter, and finally set the date before it melts and returns to tiny streams in the sandstone. What a perfect day of sunshine and fun! And what a hike…over a mile through a field, into the woods, up and down slippery trails. But the destination was well worth it.

Actually FINDING the right place was an adventure itself. Kay’s GPS told us to head down roads that we KNEW weren’t right. Kathy printed out the wrong map. And I can’t tell my left from my right! Put that all together and you get the picture.  Wrong turns, false starts, and lots of cracking up!  Kathy exclaimed with a bit of desperation, “Can’t at least ONE of us have a sense of direction?!”

A stop at a local cafe for a cup ‘o soup and directions got us there. I hope you enjoy a few photos of our little U.P. ice caves.

Going over the day later at home, I was thinking about maps and plans and how we like to think we know where we are going, but then Garmen announces:  RECALCULATING.  And you are on a new path. Life is like that. We miss our turns, and are redirected. But we can trust that the destination will be glorious! God is good, and he holds the map.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”   Jeremiah 29:11

“For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways”, declares the Lord.         Isaiah 55:8

silhouetteScreen Shot 2013-03-08 at 6.33.21 PMScreen Shot 2013-03-08 at 6.33.46 PMScreen Shot 2013-03-08 at 6.34.10 PM

4 thoughts on “Recalculating

  1. Nina, what a beautiful detour with your friends. I adore your perspective…and you are so very right., God is Good and He holds the map….I’m not afraid. Thanks for your prayers for me as well….as you always have mine.
    LoveYaKiddo

  2. Oh, please ask your friend Kay, if I can save a copy of that silluette of you in the ice cave…….you’ll always be gorgeous, girl.

  3. Ditto on Dars comments! Jeremiah 29:11 was the scripture that I hung on to during my treatments and beyooooooooooooooooooooooond!

  4. WoW and WoW ~ you are gorgeous inside & out! I so admire your strength and your ability to share it.
    ‘love & hugs from afar’
    p.s. I too would love permission to snag the copy of you.

Leave a Reply

